2 comments on “Dealing with Mental Illness With Your Child

  1. I think this is well put, especially coming from a person who is experiencing it first hand. I work with children who have various disabilities, and when speaking to the parents I always tell them that at the end of the day I want whats in the best interest of the child. It is hard especially at first because on top of the disability you have the issues that come with ALL small children (developing verbal, social and emotional skills) and then the condition exasperates those years. I applaud you for taking the initiative to look into possible answers for the things you knew you saw, and going with your gut when people were telling you otherwise. You taking the necessary steps to ensure Cayden has the best possible future is a sign of a very strong and loving mother. There will definitely be tough days but love gets us all through. I wish you all the luck in the world and thanks for shining light on a subject so many people shun upon.

  2. So brave of you to write about this. What happened in Newton is beyond tragic. I have no name for it but pure evil. I guess if he was mentally unstable it wouldn’t be a moral thing right but mental. I just don’t know about this world anymore. Look forward to reading more stories.

Leave a Reply

